Our People

Exploring ACATCM: Our Collective Strength

Welcome to ACATCM’s ‘Our People’ page, your gateway to the diverse and dedicated individuals who constitute the foundation of our institution. Here, we proudly present the rich tapestry of our administrative departments, the invaluable guidance provided by our esteemed Advisory Board, and the collaborative efforts of our dedicated Councils and Committees. Together, we represent more than an educational institution; we are a community of passionate educators and leaders united by a common mission: to empower and advance the practice of acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine. Join us as we introduce you to the exceptional individuals who have played, and continue to play, a significant role in shaping our history, our present, and our future.

At ACATCM, we firmly uphold principles of transparency and teamwork as fundamental to our success. Our commitment to excellence in education and the field of health-related practices is not only evident in our comprehensive programs but also in the manner in which we structure and organize our institution. Should you have inquiries or wish to connect with any of our team members, please do not hesitate to reach out to us through our ‘Contact Us‘ page.

Administrative Departments

  • Dr. Benny Xu
    Executive Director
    • Dr. Dennis Lee
      • Dr. Lynda Smith
        Vice President, Operation
        • Sharon Liu
          Director of Finance and HR
        • Neo Wang
          Director of Information Technology
        • Karyn So
          Director of Marketing
      • Dr. Wanda Duong
        Vice President, Academic Affairs
      • Dr. Yingying Cong
        VP of Research & Scholarship
      • Dr. Amanda Xia
      • Dr. Kyle Picard
        Dean of Students
      • Dr. Alex Besaw
        Compliance & Quality Assurance Officer

Advisory Board

The ACATCM Advisory Board serves as an external panel providing invaluable guidance to ACATCM in various key areas. This dedicated board offers expert advice on matters such as degree development, the establishment of long-term educational goals, community engagement, interactions with government organizations and policymakers, and other pressing issues that may arise. Moreover, it plays a crucial role in shaping ACATCM’s institutional structure, policies, and practices, ensuring they remain current and effective. The Advisory Board’s recommendations are instrumental in enhancing ACATCM’s programs and maintaining their relevance in the ever-evolving field of acupuncture and traditional Chinese medicine. The board convenes as necessary to address these important matters. Its accomplished members include:

Board Chair

Peter Wong KC is a barrister and solicitor in the Province of Alberta for the past 40 years.  Appointed King’s Counsel in 2002 (formerly designated as Queen’s Counsel), and award recipient of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee Medal.  Peter has been involved with advising ACATCM on governance and legal matters for over 20 years.


Max Jajszczok RN, BN, MN, PMP, CHE, is the Executive Director Operations and Rural/Remote Strategy of Island Health – Vancouver Island Health Authority. Max Jajszczok has worked with several provinces and provided guidance to healthcare administrators and practitioners to challenge the status quo and strive to innovate and improve programs and care delivery across the healthcare continuum. Max also brings regulatory college experience as he has served numerous terms on the Continuing Competence committee including as the chair within the College of Registered Nurses of Alberta.

Board Members

Chen Rixin, PhD has dedicated over 35 years of research to developing and standardizing Heat Sensitive Moxibustion. He has revolutionized how moxibustion should be practiced and advanced the core theories of Acupuncture and Moxibustion. With 106 published works in his name, Dr. Chen, is the driving force in the field. In recognition of his extensive contributions, in 2015 Dr. Chen was awarded the highest achievable prize in the Chinese Medicine field by the State National Science and Technology Progress.

Gordon Olsen

Gordon Olsen is a public affairs and communications professional with New West Public Affairs. Prior to joining New West, Gordon served for seventeen years as a senior official with the Government of Alberta. His work, both provincially and nationally, within the areas of resource development, health care, technology, environment and business development, has provided valuable knowledge on Alberta’s political environment as well as the province’s public, business and social sectors.

Hude Quan, PhD is a Professor at the Department of Community Health Sciences at the University of Calgary and Director of the World Health Organization Collaborating Centre in Classification, Terminology and Standards at the O’Brien Institute for Public Health. Dr. Quan is the Lead for Alberta’s Strategies for Patient Oriented Research SUPPORT Data and Research Service Team.

Margarita Alegría, PhD is the Chief of the Disparities Research Unit at the Massachusetts General Hospital and The Mongan Institute, the Harry G. Lehnert, Jr. and Lucille F. Cyr Lehnert Endowed MGH Research Institute Chair and a Professor in the Departments of Medicine and Psychiatry at Harvard Medical School.

Mingshan Lu, Ph.D., TCMD, Dr. Ac., is a Professor in the Department of Economics at the University of Calgary, where she has been a faculty member since 1997. She is also an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Community Health Sciences at the Cumming School of Medicine and a Member of the O’Brien Institute of Public Health at the University of Calgary. 

Thomas G. McGuire, PhD is Professor of Health Economics in the Department of Health Care Policy and a Research Associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, Harvard Medical School. His research focuses on the design and impact of health care payment systems, the economics of health care disparities, the economics of mental health policy, and drug regulation and payment.


Alexandria Besaw
, Dr. Ac., TCMD

Councils and Committees

  • ACATCM Student Council
  • ACATCM Academic Council
  • ACATCM Polity & Planning Committee
  • ACATCM Research & Scholarly Activities Committee
Scroll to Top